What Motivates You to Stay Healthy?

Think about why before you ask how.

Eric Sangerma
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

The most common New Year’s Resolutions are all about improving our health.

We vow to eat better, work out every day, and finally get in shape. We go into detail about it. Walk 10,000 steps a day, eat nothing but green stuff on Thursdays, go to the gym three times a week, and so on.

We’re in February now. Many of these resolutions are already in the garbage.

I’ve sworn off resolutions this year. Instead, I’m trying to be very honest myself. I reached the unsettling conclusion that I need to work through why, exactly, I am trying to stay healthy.

The Simple (Wrong) Answer

“If I don’t start taking better care of myself, I’ll end up really sick. Then it’ll be too late.”

This is something I used to tell myself all the time. I have a family history of blood pressure problems and other bullshit. I’ve seen how much it sucks to have to deal with the complications.

If I were a fully rational being, preventive measures would be my main priority. But in practice, I sometimes neglect my health for weeks or months on end. I focus more on work, I take shortcuts, and I keep procrastinating on workout routines.

--

--

Eric Sangerma
Mind Cafe

I Help Companies Excel and Individuals Thrive. I write about Mental Health, Relationships and Productivity. Follow me: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ericsangerma/