When To Trust Your Intuition And When Not To

Two simple lessons from Daniel Kahneman.

Nino Padilla
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Devin Justesen on Unsplash

I remember my first time playing the lottery. The prize was approximately $20,000,000. I never had an interest to play before, but the sheer amount of money made me curious. Though the chances of winning are minute, I might win.

While on the lottery booth’s line, I have numbers in my mind which “felt right.” Without any evidence, to me, they seem like winning combinations, and I felt strongly about them. To cut the story short, I didn’t win. I was simply overcome with excitement from the prospect of gaining such a huge sum. It was a nice experience though.

Was there a time you felt instinctively right about something but was grossly mistaken after all? If your answer is yes, you’re not alone. When faced with unfamiliar situations, we mostly rely on our intuition.

So should we rely on gut feel? Do they stem from the wisdom of life experiences, or are they merely forms of cognitive biases? Our intuitions are not always correct. But Daniel Kahneman offers us simple steps to evaluate our thoughts.

Are You Experienced In The Field?

Though our intuitions are not always correct, it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t rely on them. But as with all forms of…

--

--

Nino Padilla
Mind Cafe

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.