Why Traveling the World Won’t Make You Happier

Buying experiences won’t make you happy either.

Chris Wojcik
Mind Cafe

--

A street in Trastavere, Rome, where I spent a few days earlier this year.

When I was in Italy 2 months ago, I ate 6 pizzas in 4 days.

All I did for the 3 days that I was touring Rome and the Amalfi Coast was walk around, ride trains, eat bread, talk to people in broken Italian, and get drunk on wine with total strangers.

It was supposed to be your classic European dream vacation, one that I was supposed to remember and cherish for years to come.

Yet, the parts that people romanticize about travel were the parts that I hated most about this trip.

I hated making small talk about why my ears are ginormous with strangers over fancy wine that I didn’t even really want to drink. I hated feeling like a slave to the bread and cheese that I was using to fuel my body all day long. I hated feeling lost and aimless as I was crawling through someone else’s home in search of my own self-discovery.

I loved parts of traveling (the new experiences were cool), but it didn’t make me a happy person.

Happiness is more complicated than just moving your body across the world.

The intersection of adventure and reality.

--

--