Why We Always Tend to Love the Good Old Days

And how to recognize the good times when you’re living them.

Suzie Glassman
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Raj Rana on Unsplash

Driving through suburbia listening to the radio, a song caught my attention. It was Macklemore and Kesha’s Good Old Days. Don’t judge me for the fact that the song came out three years ago, and I’m just now noticing it. Late to the party should be my middle name.

Here’s a sample of the lyrics:

I wish somebody would have told me, babe
Some day, these will be the good old days
All the love you won’t forget
And all these reckless nights you won’t regret
Someday soon, your whole life’s gonna change
You’ll miss the magic of these good old days

We can all relate, especially this year. It doesn’t matter who you are; January 2020 is now part of the “good old days.” Even before this nightmare of a year, we’ve always looked at the past with rose-colored glasses. Why is this?

Is the past always that much better than the present? As Andy Bernard said in The Office,

‘I wish there was a way to know you’re in the good old days before you’ve actually left them.’

We feel you, Andy. But what if we can learn to appreciate the present while we’re in it?

--

--