You’re Meant to Spend More Time Alone

The brutal truth you‘re trying to ignore.

Sinem Günel
Mind Cafe
Published in
4 min readMay 16, 2023

--

Photo by Tatiana Syrikova

Do you have any childhood memories you remember so clearly it’s almost a little scary?

I have a handful of them. Even after decades, it feels like some of those moments have passed by just recently.

In one of those memories, I felt sorry for my mum. It was a Saturday night, and she was dressing up to go to the cinema.

When I asked who she’ll be going with, she said alone.

I was devasted.

Why would anyone go to the movies all alone?

Was she lonely?

Why wasn’t dad going with her?

Did she fight with all her friends?!

I listed all her friends suggesting she’d ask them to accompany her.

She said they weren’t interested since it was a long documentary.

I didn’t understand why she didn’t pick another movie then.

I felt so sorry for her for not having company that I couldn’t sleep until she returned home.

When she arrived, I could immediately tell she loved the movie and had a great night.

--

--

Sinem Günel
Mind Cafe

I help you create a business and life you love. ⚡ Start here: https://mwa.ck.page/5day