Conversations With Kids

I Did Yoga With Children And It Was Mindless

And maybe that’s the point of it

Maria Garcia
Mind in the Gap
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2021

--

Photo Credits: Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

It can be difficult to concentrate during yoga and meditation.

There are days in which my constant flux of thoughts takes over. The ones that you don’t even realize are coming and going until the yoga instructor reminds you to focus on your breath. Wasn’t I doing that this whole time?

The challenge of stillness for me is mainly in the stillness of thought. Maybe also a little fidgeting, but mainly it’s my thoughts that are fidgeting. The struggle of concentration is in being present.

My yoga practice has become more consistent with Covid. One of the perks of lockdown. I now manage to fit in a daily yoga practice to my routine, which I follow along with Adriene, on YouTube.

This weekend, I babysat my cousins and decided that instead of skipping my yoga practice, I would incorporate them into it, as a fun activity we could all do together. Interestingly, as I sat in Sukhasana with a 5 and 7-year-old on either side of me, I realized that the challenge of concentration for them had nothing to do with mine. Still, in the end, we all struggled and succeeded.

--

--