WRITING PROMPT

Mind in the Gap — January Writing Prompt

We are back and calling for submissions!

Maria Garcia
Mind in the Gap
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

Hello, everyone!

Welcome back to a new monthly writing prompt! It has been a minute since our last prompt, and I truly apologize for that! But we are back with more inspiration, and ready for 2022!

Although my current schedule is busier than it used to be, I decided I do not want to stop posting these monthly prompts as I always feel inspired by your stories. So here’s to keeping the trend going.

January’s Prompt

When I think of January, I think about a fresh start. Out with the old and in with the new. I think of optimism for the future, excitement for what could be, and am thankful for everything until now.

With this in mind, I began to wonder about how new doesn’t always mean better. In many ways, improving doesn’t have to mean dismissing what is old and used altogether. Maybe it could mean asking the question:

How can we honor what was, and what could be, at the same time?

So for this month, I challenge you to write about changing times. How have changes through the generations changed the way we see and experience life? What is better now, and what may…

--

--