Conversations With Kids

My 8-Year-Old Brother Wanted to Invent a Time Machine

Why did no one think of it before?

Sajjad Choudhury
Mind in the Gap
Published in
4 min readMay 20, 2021

--

Photo by Kindel Media from Pexels

Growing up, I was constantly changing my mind about what to do when I got older. I wanted to be a pilot, then an astronaut and then an explorer.

I had a vivid imagination and wanted to experience something new, something fun. Back then, there was no social media or Youtube, and most of my fascination with science came from watching cartoons, playing old-school PlayStation games, or reading books about space.

So what would a young boy in today’s generation aspire to, and how vivid would their imagination be in the age of technology?

My brother had recently turned eight and grew up surrounded by Youtube, complex strategy games, and tablets. While some would argue that children of this generation lack creativity, I was about to have a small conversation that would completely disprove this point.

(The following conversation took place during a walk back from his school)

Me: So, what would you say is your biggest goal in life?

8 — year old: (pondering for a moment) Hmm, well, we don’t really know what dinosaurs looked like, so I would build a time machine to go back and see if they had…

--

--

Sajjad Choudhury
Mind in the Gap

Product Operations Lead @ Onfido | I create relationship wellbeing content, digital products and run an IG page. Check it out - https://linktr.ee/saish_coaching