Meet Mind Magazines’ Executive Board

James Surnamer
Mind Magazines
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2022
Nathan Park

Nathan Park (Founder & Editor-in-Chief)

The world of STEAM is an infinite world of knowledge and everyday there is another thing to discover. As Isaac Newton says, “What we know is a drop, what we don’t know is an ocean.” I created MIND Magazines because I wanted to create a space where students could share their understandings of a certain topic to other students who were interested because learning a concept from someone of similar age is easier and also more relatable. I also knew there were students who would write amazing articles during their free time that were full of intriguing information, but did not have a place where they could share these articles. This is what inspired me to create MIND Magazines so that students can teach, learn, and express their love for STEAM.

James Surnamer

James Surnamer (Co-Founder & Managing Editor)

Ever since I entered Dr. G’s classroom for the first time in 9th grade, I have developed a strong curiosity for science and how all aspects of STEAM collide to create such an intricate and magnificent field. While participating at an after school research program, I saw how science creates community. Joining MIND allows me to further explore the world of STEAM and collaborate with peers who are as ardent as I am, all while promoting ethics and equity. I’m also able to combine my passion for STEAM with my writing and editing skills.

Sarah Sverdlov (Co-Founder)

Ever since I was little I always enjoyed writing, and aspects of STEAM like mathematics and science didn’t peak my interest. It wasn’t until taking science in seventh grade that I realized how much I enjoyed learning about cells and the biological processes that occur in our world. In ninth grade, my passion began to grow as I was able to research topics of my liking and learn more about the science behind blood types, neurological illnesses, and even our vast solar system. Both my parents have studied medicine, and they encouraged my curiosities in this field of study. When I joined MIND, I was so excited to be a part of a team that explored all aspects of STEAM, and focused on creating an inclusive and informative journal. Not only is MIND an incredible way to express your ideas, but it’s a wonderful tool to stay informed and learn more about current events in the STEAM field. With MIND, I hope to progress my studies and help others become knowledgeable about more topics that are important to improving today’s society.

Dr. Gonzalez-Serricchio

Dr. Gonzalez-Serricchio (Consultant & Coordinator)

Aidyl Gonzalez-Serricchio earned her Doctorate in Molecular Genetics at California Institute of Technology, then continued her post-doctoral work on myotonic dystrophy at the Institute of Genetic Medicine at the University of California. She later became the co-Principal investigator on sperm motility and mitochondrial defects using roundworms as the investigative tool and lecturer. Aidyl continued her science career, mentoring middle and high school students. Aidyl also helped families with different learners through a non-profit organization she co-founded and co-directs called the GoLD Initiative (Gift over Learning Differences Initiative).

Aidyl was born and raised in the South Bronx, New York, and is a wife, mother, scientist, educator, amateur magician, Solar System Ambassador, Polar Suborbital Science in the Upper Mesosphere Scientist-Astronaut Class 1902, PoSSUM-13 ambassador, and STEM coordinator. She currently works at the Brentwood School as a science educator and researcher.

​In 2017, Aidyl Gonzalez won Science Teacher of the Year at the California Science Fair and an award from Latino Thought Makers: Women Who Rule. In 2017, she was interviewed by award-winning comedian and television writer Rick Najera for his podcast show Latino Thought Makers. In October of 2018, she was featured on Ventura Blvd’s online magazine: Women We Love. In 2018, Aidyl Gonzalez presented at the Research Teachers Conference sponsored by Regeneron in Washington D.C. titled, “STEAM Funding for the iGen’s New Science Curriculum: Applied Science Research.” This year at the Research Teachers Conference, Aidyl Gonzalez was selected as a Research Teacher Captain to oversee, and a resource to a cohort of seven teachers as well as a present on scientific research in secondary education.

Aidyl’s philosophy is STEAM beyond the classroom. She made it a point to go out and spread the power of STEAM and how it saved her life through a cockroach underneath her bedroom window.

--

--