A digital posture coach

Jerko Čilaš
Mind Map
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2016

I stumbled across this product a few days ago and it caught my eye as a wearable device so simple in nature yet so effective in what it does.

Lumo Lift

I’m one of those computer nerds that has spent most of my life with the keyboard and my posture is really bad. Often I stumble across friends who would remind me to stand up straight and it’s fantastic to have a posture coach for a friend, but as those person(s) aren’t with me all the time I need to remind myself to sit up straight. That mostly doesn’t work.

As seen on the picture Lumo Lift attaches magnetically behind your shirt or anywhere else that can detect the angle of your posture. It is said that when you first connect it to your phone it asks of you to calibrate it. It means you need to tell it what do you consider to be a good posture and what isn’t. After that it just buzzes on you to remind you to straight up and gives you some nice statistics for the geeky stats lover in you.

Lumo Lift and iPhone app

The device also tracks some basic calories and steps you do through out the day, like most basic fitness trackers do. You can, of course, set goals of good posture times in hours per day so the whole system behaves in a sort of a personal competition way which is probably a good thing.

And yes, the battery lasts about 5 days which seems like an underachievement for a simple device like this. Maybe check out the promo video and decide for yourself if it’s worth an $80 investment?

Lumo Lift promo video

--

--