Disney Characters Teach Us How to Swim Through the Storms of Life

Our family learned to just keep swimming

Brenda Mahler
Mind Talk
Published in
7 min readFeb 19, 2023

--

Photo by Janosch Lino on Unsplash

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.” ― Maya Angelou

When my daughters were young, I valued Disney movies. In fact, they threw me a lifeline after an exhausting day at work when I needed time to start dinner, load the dishwasher, pay the bills or any of the other duties labeled mother’s tasks. If temperature outside forced us to find adventures indoors, the cursed boob tube entertained the children. It provided me time to stop battling the constant surge and provided quiet moments to ride the surf.

During those times, I embraced Disney movies for survival. I never suspicioned they would teach my daughters future life survival skills. Kari and Kat watched Disney movie characters demonstrate bravery, courage, and the value of work to actualize their dreams.

Little did I know, a challenge waited off stage for Kari. She was 33-years-old when a debilitating stroke changed her life. When she woke in a hospital bed she had lost the use of her right side and couldn’t speak. She responded just as her Disney role models patterned; she just kept swimming. In the movie, Finding Nemo, Dory survives the…

--

--

Brenda Mahler
Mind Talk

Real life person sharing real life stories. Writing about travel, dogs, and healthy lifestyles.