Fighting Shadows: My Encounter with Mental Health Battles

Aga Byrczek
Mind Talk
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2023

--

Image by Lucija Rasonja from Pixabay

Hello, dear readers! I am here to open up about a journey that has taken me through the darkest alleys of my existence and the struggle to find my way back. It’s a journey about battling cancer, mental health issues, and societal prejudices. I am hoping that by sharing my experience, I can provide some comfort and insight to those who might be going through something similar.

My Dance With Fear

I have been dancing with fear since I was a child, courtesy of my invasive medical procedure phobia. This fear made something as routine as a doctor’s visit or drawing blood for medical paperwork a nightmare. I had developed intricate tactics to avoid these situations as much as I could.

The Unexpected Arrival of Cancer

Life, however, had an ironic twist in store for me. In 2020, I was diagnosed with cancer. The irony wasn’t lost on me — the person who would do anything to avoid a needle was now facing one of the most medically intensive challenges one could imagine.

Undergoing the treatments was a battleground, but with the support of my medical team who worked out a special plan catered to my needs, I managed to navigate through the thorns.

A Return to Work and the Descent into…

--

--

Aga Byrczek
Mind Talk

I write about social issues, mental health, fat phobia and micro aggressions. My mission is to raise awareness by writing ✊🏼 www.agabyrczek.eu