Here is How to Spot an Instagram Influencer Scam

Christina Szeman
Mind Talk
Published in
6 min readMar 27, 2022

--

Don’t get fooled by them.

Photo by Nataliya Vaitkevich: https://www.pexels.com/photo/a-woman-making-a-business-presentation-7172791/.

I have already discussed how to spot a romance scam in a previous article. I am a pro at it. There are still Romance Scammers who want you to get off Facebook immediately, and other dating sites so they can get on WhatsApp. WhatsApp is confusing to me. So, that is a big huge no.

Sadly, Facebook employees still do not recognize that these scammers are real and allow them to take advantage of others. But that’s not the point of this article.

Image by Click on 👍🏼👍🏼, consider ☕ Thank you! 🤗 from Pixabay.

Instagram

The most recent thing I have noticed, and I’m sure many of you have too, is Instagram Influencer Scams.

As I write this, I am doing my ‌research on how to become an influencer. However, I know I won’t become rich from it. But, it’s a great side business.

Imagine you logged onto your Instagram page and noticed someone had messaged you. Let’s say the message comes from Lariall Jewelry (they messaged me a few hours ago), Ambassador Sunglasses (which I was about to join, but it turned out to be a scam) or Devil Treasures (They offer occult jewelry, and I got duped out of $30 in shipping and handling…

--

--

Christina Szeman
Mind Talk

Christina is a writer, podcaster, and copywriter. She has been writing for over 15 years. She just started two new publications on Medium.