How I (un)intentionally deceived myself

3 signs to help you avoid it!

Yoga Nesadurai
Mind Talk
3 min readFeb 28, 2021

--

Image by author, Yoga Nesadurai

Most of us get on with our daily routines without giving many things much thought. We are programmed to work that way.

But sometimes we only understand the impact of our thinking or actions after it’s gone wrong, when it’s too late.

Our assumptions play a key role in our thinking and actions and sometimes may inadvertently help us deceive ourselves.

(Un)intentional deception

Take a simple example like Vitamin D. We all know that the sun is a good source of vitamin D. And for those of us who live in the tropics, like me, are lucky to have the sun all year round.

For our bodies to absorb vitamin D, we need to be in the sun between 10 am and 2 pm, for 10 to 15 minutes two to three times per week.

And for best absorption, our torso needs to be exposed to the sun. Being out fully clothed in the sun is not optimal for vitamin D absorption.

I love the outdoors and I love the sun and spend quite a bit of time in it. So, I assumed that my vitamin D levels were bound to be normal or even high.

But little did I know that on top of the two facts I mentioned above, the third important fact is that darker skin tones (me) absorb less of the sun’s rays.

During an extensive blood test last month, I found out that my vitamin D levels are low.

I am lucky that I have a functional medicine doctor who insisted on a combination of extra tests be carried out during my routine yearly blood test.

And my result had me speechless. My vitamin D levels are so low that I am now on a high dose of vitamin D for the foreseeable future.

I went one step further to research why vitamin D is important and again realised how my assumptions kept me falsely secure. It has changed my approach to my health and wellness.

3 signs you may be (un)intentionally deceiving yourself

Intentional deception is self-sabotage.

Unintentional deception could happen through your daily choices and here are 3 signs you may be doing so:

1. You rely on your assumptions when making critical choices

We need our assumptions to function efficiently every day. But to be effective we need to check the validity of our assumptions. Our assumptions need intermittent review to ensure we are not taking things for granted.

How certain are you that your assumptions are valid in your current situation? Does your data back your assumptions?

2. You look for validation of your assumptions

This happens so instinctively that we sometimes don’t even notice we are doing it. We want something to go our way, it does not, and we look for ways or people to validate our assumptions.

This is the greatest way we deceive ourselves. In leadership, this is where leaders surround themselves with people who say what they want to hear.

3. You frequently justify your choice(s) to others and notice a pattern forming

When asked about your choice(s), your answer is more defensive than it is reasoned, and you notice a pattern around a particular choice. In some instances, your answer may be valid but at other times not.

This is an intimate one. Only you know if your justifications are based on facts or not.

Food for thought

Some food for thought here and it requires further reflection to identify where you could potentially be deceiving yourself.

Just as I assumed that my vitamin D levels would be at an optimal level. It took a blood test to reveal my deception. And I am glad my functional doctor had the foresight to test it.

Vitamin D is an important element in bone health and overall wellness.

But, like I say with everything, when we realise an assumption is no longer valid, we can begin to do something about it.

And the choice, how you navigate your future, is yours!

--

--

Yoga Nesadurai
Mind Talk

Future-Proofing You Facilitator & Mentor. I help leaders and solopreneurs adapt for the future. And the brain is where it all happens. More at yoganesadurai.com