I Bought LEGO Titanic

Fulfilling a Dream 33 Years in the Making

A.J. Bryant
Mind Talk

--

RMS Titanic ship model created out of LEGO pieces displayed on a dining room table.
LEGO Titanic -Photo by Author

I recently spent $900 dollars on a LEGO set.

I am a life-long Titanic buff. My fascination with Titanic began at nine years old and has only grown since. For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to build a LEGO Titanic. But I’ve been waiting for LEGO to release a set, rather than try to build one on my own.

In November 2021, LEGO released the long-awaited and oft-rumored set. The retail price was $630 dollars, excluding shipping. It sold out in pre-sale immediately and then on LEGO.com and retails shelves just as fast. The only place to purchase now is the secondary market, where I bought mine.

The 32-pound outer box contained three boxes. Everything screamed massive. Each box had a separate instruction manual of about 300 pages. There are 9090 total pieces in the set, split into 46 plastic bags.

Taking my time with the build was part of its joy. I worked on it nightly, for one month. Savoring the construction experience, relishing the peace and solitude of working late at night, and building something with my hands.

That’s one of the big draws for adult fans of LEGO (AFOL). For me and many of my fellow AFOLS, we are in jobs where at day’s end we haven’t ‘created’ anything. Having a palpable and visceral…

--

--

A.J. Bryant
Mind Talk

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.