I Left Snapchat For Good

Why I deleted my Snapchat?

RAINNA
Mind Talk

--

In 2018, I deleted my Snapchat, and it is for good. I used Snapchat throughout my high school life, and I’s post everything on Snapchat every day. It was hard for me to leave Snapchat because of the Snapchat filters that could make me prettier. Also, it was fun to use funny filters when you’re taking a stolen picture of your friends.

Still, my friends on Snapchat and Instagram didn’t make me feel I had to delete my Snapchat. But I felt the need to delete it because it was affecting my self-image. I felt lonely even though I was constantly sending pictures to my friends.

If you are using Snapchat, you are aware, and you know what streaks are and Snapchat score. The Snapchat streak score makes you feel obligated to send a picture to your friend within 24 hours. It makes you want to send images to your friends every day, even if it is just a black image with “S” written as a caption. It makes you feel like you don’t want to lose the streak score, especially if you reached the milestone.

Also, the Snapchat score makes you want to use Snapchat even more because you want to level your score up. The Snapchat score is when you send a picture to someone, you’ll get a score. I deleted my Snapchat when I had six people with Streaks, about 20K Snapchat score.

--

--

RAINNA
Mind Talk

Currently writing a memoir• I write about JESUS, life lessons, health, relationships & self-improvement•Featured in Thought Catalog & Elephant Journal🇵🇭🇨🇦