In Appreciation of Profanity

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Mind Talk
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2022

--

It’s acknowledged by scholars worldwide that accurately placed swear words and phrases can stimulate the intellect and enhance conversation.

He Swore at Me: Photo by Pixabys

My mother drummed into me at an early age, if someone used profanity it was a sign of having a limited vocabulary.

I eventually found that not to be an accurate assessment of the way the world rotates.

Throughout high school and college, I was sworn at by friends, both male and female, teachers and professors, many with doctorates in a wide variety of specialties and coaches of every sport I played.

They all seemed pretty smart to me.

Upon graduation I scored a job teaching middle schoolers who swore constantly and quite creatively, only occasionally using a dirty word in the wrong context. They managed to refrain from swearing around me as their teacher but often spoke in loud voices when communicating with each other.

As their teacher it was recommended that I not swear at my student charges; advice I followed unless unusual circumstances forced me to orally restrain an occasional obstreperous boy.

We teachers save most of our swearing for the faculty lounge where we cursed at each other and when we described a…

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Mind Talk

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.