Lessons from a Bestselling Author

From Nowhere to Here

Lubna Yusuf
Mind Talk
2 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

Screenshot on Amazon

Dear Readers,

Here is something I learnt and taught myself when the world closed down after a virus set loose.

Life is not fair and sometimes being righteous and talented may not be enough. We have to make efforts to reach our potential and make dreams turn into goals. There is no miracle or formula for instant success and there is no definition of success either.

So as death was looming around the lockdowns, I thought my days are limited and all my works would go unpublished. So instead of waiting for traditional publishing houses to respond to my submissions, I started frantically working on my books and began the self publishing journey that has made me a bestselling author on Amazon, without any paid promotions or paid reviews so far.

Top 5 lessons from my journey so far:

  1. Never let external delays hamper your internal growth and work. You must write for yourself and not for achieving any target.
  2. Don’t wait too long for things that are beyond your control. Make the best of the resources that are available to you now.
  3. Take one step at a time and exercise your brain regularly by investing your time in reading all themes of writing.
  4. Be your own self critic and be honest to yourself. It reflects in your creative work.
  5. A bestseller is not the ultimate goal or success. Having a genuine reader base and sustaining in the field for longer duration is the real deal.

You may like to read my new book, ‘Unsaid’, and send me your reviews.
My reader support took the book to top 5 list of Bestsellers in Asian Literature on Amazon this month!

I love hearing from my readers! It is available as an ebook and paperback on Amazon:

Thank you!

--

--

Lubna Yusuf
Mind Talk

BOOKS: www.amazon.com/author/lubnayusuf | Author, Lawyer, Filmmaker, Multidisciplinary Artist |Co-author TheAIBook | Instagram @iglubna