My Journey Through Stage Fright

How I Coped with Fear and Anxiety

glo up with me
Mind Talk
3 min readApr 10, 2023

--

Photo by Oscar Keys on Unsplash

Author’s Note: Recently, I passed the 100 followers milestone, and I am incredibly grateful to those who have supported my writing journey 💕 Unfortunately, due to my residency in an unsupported country, I found out that I am unable to participate in the Medium Partner Program. It saddens me because it took me a while to get here. If my words have brought you joy or helped you in any way, please consider tipping this story, even for just $1, or buy me a coffee to help me keep writing. Your kindness means the world to me and will make a significant impact on my life. Thank you for being a part of this journey!

Confession time: I used to be a terrible communicator. I mumbled like I was auditioning for the role of an incoherent Shakespearean character, and my conversations were as awkward as a newborn giraffe trying to dance the tango. I’ve managed to turn things around, and today, I’ll be sharing the twists and turns of my journey to become a communication maestro.

It all began on a fateful day when I realized my communication skills were about as effective as a malfunctioning megaphone. I was giving a speech at my best friend’s wedding, and my nerves got the better of me. I stammered, fidgeted, and ultimately butchered the toast like a clumsy chef, leaving everyone puzzled and wondering if I had just recited an obscure poem in an alien language.

That mortifying experience was a wake-up call. I knew I had to improve my communication skills to avoid any future embarrassment. So, armed with determination and a healthy dose of self-deprecating humor, I embarked on my mission to become a better communicator.

First things first, I tackled my mumbling problem head-on. I practiced speaking slowly and clearly, enunciating each word like I was a language teacher demonstrating the proper pronunciation of “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.” To keep things fun, I pretended I was a radio announcer or a Shakespearean actor, depending on my mood. It wasn’t long before I started noticing a difference in how others responded to me.

Next, I set out to improve my body language. I realized that my slouching and constant fidgeting made me look like a nervous squirrel. So, I practiced maintaining good posture and using confident gestures to convey my message. I soon found that not only did my improved body language make me look more self-assured, but it also made me feel more confident.

Of course, communication is a two-way street, so I knew I had to sharpen my listening skills as well. I began to practice active listening, making a conscious effort to truly understand and empathize with the person I was speaking to. I even tried mirroring their body language (subtly, of course) to establish a deeper connection. Surprisingly, people seemed to appreciate my efforts, and I found myself having more engaging and meaningful conversations.

The pièce de résistance in my quest for better communication skills was mastering the art of storytelling. I recognized that the most captivating speakers were those who could weave a compelling narrative. So, I practiced sharing my own experiences and anecdotes, honing my storytelling abilities until I could keep my audience entertained and engaged.

And that is the story of how I went from a mumbling mess to a communication connoisseur. It wasn’t an overnight transformation, and it certainly wasn’t always pretty, but it was a journey filled with learning and self-discovery. So, if you ever find yourself in a similar predicament, just remember: with a little determination, a healthy dose of humor, and some practice, you too can become a master communicator. Now, go forth and conquer the world of conversation!

--

--

glo up with me
Mind Talk

Join my glow-up tribe! Dive into health, hobbies, fashion & business. Share tips & inspiration to live our best lives. Let's shine together!