Camping Therapy

Jennifer Hammersmark
Mind Your Madness
Published in
4 min readJul 24, 2019

My husband has plans, I am working too hard, I am losing my mind . . . I am going camping.

I had plenty of options of things to do this weekend. The very famous Tour de White Rock was on, including great live music. Many of my friends had extended invitations to me, including poolside! I even had a ticket for myself to attend the music festival that my husband was going to. However, none of those busy, fun things were attractive. I needed to get out of dodge, and get outside.

Harrison Lake

During the winter months, I ski at least once per week. This provides that outside time and subsequent mental health benefits that I crave. No, that I need.

So, off camping I go. Destination: Harrison Lake.

The first morning I crawled out of my tent, built a fire, made a coffee, and grabbed my journal.

“Good choice. Out of all of the options that were available of things to do this weekend, I made the right one:

- serene beauty of nature

- no cell service

- great sleep

- outside, fresh air constantly

- no cell service [again, for emphasis]

- no to-do list items looking at me…ahhhh.”

Photo by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

There is a reason I write about the outdoors and mental health. The relief that is provided is so immediate; a release from the pressure valve that many of us feel in our day to day lives. I describe it as trying to “survive” in North America. This may not seem to fit the true definition of survival — but it does describe what is required of us. We must keep going: work, clean, care, provide, pay, make money, make more money. Then, quick!: sleep, relax, have fun, enjoy and re-charge, because, REPEAT, all over again. We must keep going.

Morning view, Harrison Lake

Next to me, it was interesting watching a lovely group of South Asian women who were also camping. There were two moms and their daughters who had also decided to “get out of dodge” themselves, and have a girls weekend. There was laughter, food, campfires, and funny unicorn floaties for all of them to enjoy. Like I said, it was a lovely sight.

When I woke up on the second morning, I built a fire, made a coffee, and grabbed my journal again.

I could use more of this — a lot more. I am so glad that my body instinctively told me what not to do, and, what to do.

I know there are times in everyone’s life where it is busier, and other times that are not as demanding. However, with our rising cost of living, it seems that one must keep moving forward to get ahead, or even just to maintain our lifestyles. This can truly be exhausting, and nature has a beautiful ability to press the re-set button for us. Try it yourself. Your body and mind will thank you, and then your soul can breathe.

Journalling, Lakeside

--

--