Children of the Mist

Jennifer Hammersmark
Mind Your Madness
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2022

Doxa Film Festival is back!!

doxafestival.ca and imdb.com

Viewing films, especially documentaries, is one of the best ways to tour the world and get abreast of important social and justice issues — all from the comfort of your theatre seat. Or in my case since I moved eight hours away, from the comfort of my living room, via online programming.

I have long said that travel and post secondary education (of any kind) are two intentional ways in which one can really grow themselves. Of course there is also the school of hard knocks and many other forms of personal growth. As a rule though, I highly recommend that immersing yourself in other cultures and peoples is a great way to expand your knowledge base and educate yourself on how the rest of the world operates. There are a myriad of issues that plague the planet that we are often not aware of. Knowledge is power; power to assist with change.

On that note, we can not all hop on airplanes (nor should we environmentally) in order to accomplish expanding our awareness. An alternative? The 21st annual Doxa Film Festival, at theatres in Vancouver now thru May 15th.

The first film I chose to see was Children of the Mist. I visited Vietnam in 2014/2015 and fell in love with the country, the people, and of course the food. I am drooling as I recollect a food tour I enjoyed in Hanoi. When I noticed that there was a documentary filmed there, I knew I must see it.

I was shocked.

My recollection of my one month tour of the country was how progressive and educated the people were, and what a proud culture they had. Proud that they had survived many invasions over the centuries, and happy to enjoy their freedoms.

So who then is this far away community of Hmong people, mostly located in the high mountains? I thought I had covered most of the country, as far north as Ha Long Bay, as far south as Phu Quoc Island, and as much as we could see in between. These indigenous peoples I had not experienced nor had heard of prior to this documentary.

No spoilers here. It is a must see. The cinematography is fantastic, exhibiting some of the most beautiful countryside in the world. Hats off to Hà Lệ Diễm, Film Director, as she presses in so up close and personal. Check here for a wonderful interview with Hà Lệ Diễm about the filming of Children of the Mist.

I am sure you too may be as equally shocked, finding out that a twelve year old could be kidnapped for marriage — with the permission of both sets of parents! Mama mia, Di is only a child herself as she unknowingly flirts with a dangerous tradition.

I hope that you enjoy seeing the world from the comfort of your theatre seat, or from your living room.

Photo by Ruslan Bardash on Unsplash

--

--