Love in the Time of Fentanyl

Jennifer Hammersmark
Mind Your Madness
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2022

Doxa Film Festival 2022

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

The Overdose Prevention Society (OPS) is located at 58 East Hastings Street in Vancouver, B.C. This is their story.

@DOXAFestival / mobile.twitter.com

Since I too lost someone who was very important to me to fentanyl, I am equally hopeful and fearful when a new film shows up regarding the overdose crisis. Will it educate the naive, enlighten the broader community, and/or assist us toward policy change? Or will it just kick me in the gut, again, and leave me writhing on the floor — sad and helpless.

This film was of the helpful genre. Don’t get me wrong, it was terribly difficult to watch. Even as a therapist and a knower of this terrible crisis, the graphic realities shown of what dependent people go through each day to get their fix is shocking and heart wrenching. On the other side, holy moly there are super great people out there doing service work at OPS that is not for the faint of heart. I would personally like to give medals and international recognition for every single worker that was introduced to us through this documentary. They are brave and selfless.

I knew of OPS, but was blessed through this documentary to get up close and personal. Learning about the roots and watching the day-to-day operations was a gift that I did not expect. The title of this film is perfect.

Thank you Lost Time Media, and Director Colin Askey, and DOXA.

@DOXAFestival

Please take the time to see this film.

Please educate yourself on this crisis and how you can help.

Please show compassion to “those” people. They are your neighbours, friends, aunts, uncles, cousins . . . this epidemic shows no favour to class or economic status. One wrong choice, and I am the user.

--

--