Through The Trenches — DOXA 2017 film

Jennifer Hammersmark
Mind Your Madness
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2017

Today (May 10/17) I met Henry. Henry Doyle. Henry is a poet who lives in East Van, and is originally from Toronto.

Henry’s story is an interesting one. He is a rough and tumble dude, who apologizes for swearing, and by nature is quite shy. Yet he agreed to be filmed for a documentary, Through The Trenches, that was shown today at DOXA. He was also convinced to stand in front of the audience after the film for Q&A. I really like him.

Henry made me chuckle when he responded to a general question from the moderator with this answer: “documentaries are kinda sketchy…you can’t take anything back!” You got that right! That is what makes documentaries so cool, so real.

Henry with Film Maker Marina Dodis

I asked Henry about the fact that he started writing when he was in prison, and perhaps if he could comment about the relationship between that and his healing process. This was his response:

“Writing is a kind of therapy. Get stuff out. My stuff is graphic. I can get a bit dark in my stuff. It is better than a shrink, it’s on paper. And it doesn’t cost that much!! I had something inside me; something to accomplish.”

Very well put, Henry. And that is coming from a shrink :)

Henry closes with a very special remark, especially from an East Van man: “I am fortunate. I work. I don’t do drugs, but I do drink. I also get paid for my writing sometimes. I started working when I was fifteen. I guess I got a work ethic.” He is so right, that is a blessing. Especially in this city.

Check out Henry for yourself:

--

--