I knew who I was this morning, but I've changed a few times since then..

The longest writer’s block.

Ankita Brahmbhatt
Mindful Memos

--

I have always been a writer in my head. Some days I'm the woman who will take on the world, some days I'm the damsel in distress, other days I'm Nigella Lawson, narrating cooking instructions to the camera as I add extra butter to everything. Or is that Julia Child? Anyway, as I was saying, I may be doing the most mundane of things, but there is a constant dialogue playing in my mind.

“It’s a hot summer afternoon.. A familiar sound of the shrill whistle alarms her.. The trash collection truck is here. She runs to the balcony as quickly as she can, calling the trash guys out, asking them to wait. Wait till she gets her garbage cans out.. she missed them yesterday and the cans are overflowing.. She drops what she is doing (aimlessly surfing the internet) and runs down to the truck with her garbage cans (in slow motion, of course)..” You get the picture..

So, why has it taken me this long to start typing these dialogues that automatically form in my mind? Well, because I have such a fabulous life and so many things to do and so many people to meet that I never found the time to pen my thoughts down. No, not really, I'm just lazy. Making excuses to myself, like “ I'm entertaining myself with my thoughts, aren't I?Nobody else needs to know what I think.” But lets just call it Writer’s Block. It sounds cooler.

I now realize how wrong I was. Why must I suffer alone? I'm going to Inflict my thoughts on the world henceforth.

--

--