Self-Inflicted Solitary Confinement

A self check-in

Gabrielle Roy
Mindful Memos

--

Who got ready this morning and felt less than perfect when they looked in the mirror? Cool. Me too. Maybe you had to throw on some spanx, re-wash your hair, or pluck a few eyebrow hairs. Or maybe it wasn’t as simple as that. Maybe what you needed couldn’t be found at the bottom of your cosmetic bag or in the back of your closet.

You know, I had to really step back and look at myself yesterday. I caught myself driving through town sizing up every woman that passed by. It was a pass or fail test. Were they fatter or skinnier than me? I hunched over with each glance. You see, I think I want to feel thin but jealousy is jealousy. My disorder doesn’t discriminate. The second I judge anyone is the second I create an illusion of separation. And separation is the greatest weapon of mass destruction.

Guys, I think our only way of getting through this is together. We have to recognize the light that shines in us all. I believe we come from the same source. I’m not throwing a label on it but it’s simple. We’re all human beings and human beings are social creatures by nature. We know this. Solitary confinement is the arguably the most agonizing of all punishments. So why are we trying to do this alone?

Let’s talk. Fuck celebrity gossip, the latest movie reviews, or the weather. This is our armor. Ask how someone feels today. And when you are asked, be honest. An echo of “good” replies get us nowhere. If you’re feeling anxious, depressed, and at your edge: reach out. In a society of people pleasers, we need a few more squeaky wheels. Sharing opens the flood gates to unity. As lonely as this world can feel, you are not alone.

--

--