Are We Predisposed To Fail Due To Conditioning?

Or can we retrain our brain

Sam Finlayson
Mindful Mental Health

--

Photo by Margarida Afonso on Unsplash

I read this brilliant article Your Brain Is Wired To Avoid Success by Claudia Caraulan and it made me think.

This part in particular:

Until the age of 8, we can only receive the direct information our parents or caregivers give us, incapable of doing anything else than believing it and praising it.

I mean, come on! It’s our parents, of course, every single thing they say it’s right, right?

We enter adulthood, with beliefs and visions of the world created by hearing, seeing, and experiencing when we were kids, with zero to no intention of changing them.

This is an important point and one that rings true for many. For me, it was like a gut punch. I was abused by a parent until I was 10 so what was going in during these brain-forming 8 years was not positive or helpful. I believed every word, action, and intention wholeheartedly and took that throughout my life into adulthood.

Questioning those beliefs formed in childhood is near impossible by yourself and you have been programmed not to ask for help. Would life be better if we could all tackle the way we think by recognising what is happening? Cut the child off and ignore the angry voice inside. Absolutely. Is it…

--

--

Sam Finlayson
Mindful Mental Health

Love 📚 New to writing but loving every minute. Write about my experiences with therapy, trauma and recovery as well as other things that cross my mind 😉