The Beach

Frontier and solace

Sathyaghan Iyer
Mindful Writing

--

I remember the first time I had ever been to a beach. I was around 15, yeah pretty late, one cannot miss what one does not know. The first thing I remember about seeing it was that all I could think of was the huge expanse of blue-grey ahead. I had been around large water bodies but the sheer magnitude of seeing this vast, open, and untamed brought home the point og how small I am, that all that puffed up pompousness I had in me was nothing when faced with this grandeur.

There is so much that is written and that can be written about the ocean, but I want to talk about that small strip of sand that separates the water from the rocks. The small strip is nothing to be trifled with, it the best possible place for reflection, introspection or just relaxation. There is a concert in the sea and the beach is the front row. As I walked about, sand clinging to my denims and wind blowing on my face, there was this immense feeling of tranquility. All the worries of the day seem to fly away. Nothing else mattered, there were new footprints to make. It teemed with people who were slowly staggering here after a tiresome day to sit back and forget their pains for an hour or two. The feeling that this was the edge of the world and yet a place which shelters the tired hearts did not escape me.

It was a first, first trip, first love. I had to fall in love with the beach because I couldn’t help myself. And boy did she become beautiful by dusk…

--

--

Sathyaghan Iyer
Mindful Writing

Student, techie, geek, bookworm, amateur photographer.....more to be added soon