5 Warning Signs of a Controlling Partner.

Elephant Journal
Mindful Love, Loss, & Lust
4 min readOct 22, 2021

--

IMAGE: GIULIAJROSA/INSTAGRAM

“I’m not controlling!”

How many times have we heard or said this?

We often overlook controlling behavior in relationships, and the reasons are many:

we get used to it
we think it’s normal
we refuse to admit it
we think it’s no big deal, or
we’re too attached/scared to leave

To start off, controlling partners don’t always realize they’re being controlling. Sometimes it’s hard to pin down when or how someone is being controlling, especially if they’re emotionally manipulative. But some partners are explicit about their controlling behavior, which makes it easier to spot (meaning the controlling person directly asks their partner not to do something).

We might be the ones who are in control or we could be the victim of a controlling partner. Either way, it’s not okay.

It took me years to realize that I have a controlling personality, and it was significantly reflected in my relationships. But it also took me years to realize that I have low self-esteem and zero trust in myself. As a result, controlling my partners was a “warranty.”

--

--

Elephant Journal
Mindful Love, Loss, & Lust

Elephant is an independent, mindful media dedicated to sharing the good life beyond the choir, and to all those who didn’t yet know they give a care.