Exercise can help you improve your mindfulness skills

Shika Raju
Mindfully Speaking
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2021

Ways exercising can improve mindfulness and health

Exercise is a great way to increase mindfulness, lift one’s mood and improve general health. I’ve been exercising all my life, and I can honestly say how it has benefited me. Exercise has taught me to stay in the present moment and enjoy the wonders of life we take for granted. It taught me discipline, self-love, eating well, and looking after my physical and mental health.

Not only does exercise have physical benefits, but it can help increase self-awareness through mindfulness, and build self-confidence.

When I was going through a life-changing moment back in 2012, I decided to join a running club (Sydney Striders); although I was into fitness and attended the gym regularly, I was never a runner, so this was a challenge. The group had long runs on Sunday, and the first few weeks were tough. I started with 12km and gradually built my distance. We did not listen to music during the group runs, so I quickly trained myself to appreciate the present moment; I started focusing on my breathing, the surrounding environment, my footsteps, how my body was moving, and how I felt. As the weeks progressed, I began to appreciate the feeling of being in the present moment. I eventually stopped listening to music and started practising mindfulness during my regular runs.

Not only did my confidence grow as I completed a new distance, but I was in a “state of flow”.

With my new profound appreciation of running and mindfulness, I signed up for my first marathon, which was Sydney Marathon; this gave me a goal that I could pursue because I knew in 20 weeks I would be a different person. I was still battling heartache, but I kept my exercise program and practiced mindfulness. Getting up at 5 am every morning to either run or go to the gym elevated my feel-good hormones. Research shows that by engaging in 30 mins of physical exercise such as a high-intensity workout, weight session, or a run, the body releases chemicals such as endorphins and serotonin to boost mood. In general, exercise increases mindfulness, cures heartaches and improves physical health.

5 tips to help you get started with exercise:

Tip 1: Make time: schedule an appointment in your diary for exercise, whether it’s the first thing in the morning or later in the afternoon. I find doing exercise in the morning is a great way to start the day, and practice mindfulness.

Tip 2: Get organised: have the clothes and shoes ready for training. I tend to have my activewear on my bedside table so when I wake up, I can get ready quickly. If I am doing an afternoon class, I make sure I pack my clothes the night before.

Tip 3: Goal: having a goal is a great motivator. Sign up for a race that will require training; this will motivate you to build on your fitness every week. It can be a 5km run or long-distance endurance race, CrossFit or body-building competition.

Tip 4: Support: find people that share similar goals. Join a running, cycling club, or a group gym session. Being surrounded by people that have a similar outlook on life and goals will motivate you. It is also a great way to learn from each other about training.

Tip 5: Mindset: change your mindset. Believe in yourself that you can achieve a healthy life or accomplish a long-term fitness goal. Don’t think about the previous failed attempt; focus on the current situation and your new goals. Each, week when you are better than last week, your confidence will grow, and your mindset will change.

--

--

Shika Raju
Mindfully Speaking

I am a Mountaineer, Marathoner, CrossFitter and Positive Psychology Coach. I want to share my own experience and knowledge to help others thrive and flourish.