Rilke, Entirely Out of Context

Ren Powell
Mindfully Speaking
Published in
4 min readJan 15, 2021

--

Considering (Human) Nature, Acceptance, and Skillful Resistance

Photo: Ren Powell

I think this is the third year that I am trying to read a small bit of Rilke each night before bed. I am good at morning routines, but my days always unravel and evening routines have never been something I have managed to follow through on.

But though I am never patient, I am stubborn, and I am trying yet again. A cursory tidying of the house. A cup of tea. A half-hour on the Shakti mat.

These days I’m puzzling over the idea of comfort — over the fact that it is possible to find comfort in surrendering to what is unequivocally unpleasant. I don’t mean looking for silver linings. But acknowledging what is. Comfort need not be defined as providing hope, as I have always unconsciously understood it. I’ve gone down a rabbit hole of synonyms this morning trying to figure out where I got this idea.

Rilke writes: “A solitary sojourn in the country is, especially at this moment, on half real, because the sense of harmlessness in being with nature is lost to us. The influence on us of nature’s quiet, insistent presence is, from the start, overwhelmed by our knowledge of the unspeakable human fate that, night and day, irrevocably unfolds.”

I’m aware that I’m reading this out of context, as it is presented in this particular book. And I…

--

--

Ren Powell
Mindfully Speaking

Poet, Playwright & Teaching Artist. ✎ Ren’s website is renpowell.com - madorphanlit/substack.com