Mindfully Speaking
Published in

Mindfully Speaking

The Afflictions Of Being Human

Exploring the 5 Kleshas

Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

According to Anusha Wijeyakumar in , the English translation of Klesha is poison. Both Buddhism and Hinduism claim there are five kleshas. You wouldn’t recognize the Sanskrit words for them but we have all embraced the ‘poison’ of these five states — Ignorance, Ego, Attachment, Aversion, and of course, Fear of Death.