This is What a Conscious Relationship Looks Like

Angela Meredith
Mindfully

--

Photo by Justin Follis on Unsplash

You may have heard the term conscious relationship floating around and wondered, what the heck does that mean? I’ve used it to describe the type of relationship that I choose to create and been met with confusion and questions. I can’t recall when I first heard it, but I do know that it’s become increasingly popular and that I see it used on social media by relationship and life coaches who aim to help others have better relationships.

I’ve embraced it as a type of relationship that one creates with presence, awareness, and intention. All of those terms can be a bit vague; I realize. What does presence, awareness, and intention actually look and feel like in real life? And is this even achievable? Is it practical, or just another hard-to-attain feel good idea?

Relationships are the higher ed of personal growth. They’re where we go to dig in deep and learn the hard truths about ourselves and this precious and perilous human experience.

It’s both, actually. It’s achievable, but it can also be challenging. It looks like a lot of hard work on one’s self, going within, healing, and surrendering to the growth and change that comes from the process of raising our consciousness and increasing…

--

--