Is Betterhelp a good service?

MiciROX
Mindfully Lazy
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2022

--

It may come as no surprise to you, my dear reader, that I need therapy.

I’m the type of person that needs to talk things through — over and over again. I hold onto regrets of the past and mull over them, in an unhealthy way. Regrets get stuck in my thoughts all day and all night, and in my worst days I sleep over them as a form of escape. Sometimes I feel like I could use some help in untangling these chaotic thoughts.

That’s when I saw an ad for Betterhelp in Facebook. How much does Betterhelp cost? For £40-£70 a session for 4 sessions (depending on your location, preference and therapist availability.), I thought it wasn’t so bad. It’s cheaper than many in-person therapy for sure. (With this Betterhelp referral code you get your first week free). Anyhow, everything is done online these days anyway. I felt I should at least give it a shot.

So how does it work?

Well first, they give you a series of personal online questions to see just how bad in a shape you are and also pair you up with the right therapist. After a few days, they matched me with Trendolyn Davis from Dallas, Texas.

The first thing that came to mind is why I was paired up with a therapist from America when I was in the UK, this irritated me a bit. Trendolyn explained to me that Betterhelp is probably lacking UK therapist…

--

--

MiciROX
Mindfully Lazy

Do the things you are passionate about and the rest will follow through. http://www.mindfullylazy.com/