Pic from www.dailygood.org

Anger Detection

Isura Silva
Mindfulness Journal
2 min readApr 2, 2015

--

Anger is created inside me.
It is not created outside and poured in to me, it is with in me.
When someone says nasty things about me, do something irritating, I understand it is an event happening outside. People do/say good things as well as bad things to me.
So this event is not my anger.
Anger is created by fermenting those actions and words in my mind.
The longer the fermentation, the juicier it gets.
During the period of anger, I think I am creating solutions. Actually I am taking steps for revenge.
I’m not immune to anger, every day I get angry.
When I get angry, I have a tracking system to alarm me. That tracking system is my heart beat, the intensity of breathing, the speed of my thoughts raging in my mind etc.
I become aware of it. I train my mind to spot these changes. The more I train, the earlier I can detect and ring the alarm.
I would read a dhamma book , take few deep breaths, listen to some amazing music or take courage to create a blog post like this ☺
I’m not immune to anger, but I’m trained to detect it early.

“ Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned “
~ Buddha

Originally published at iysura.blogspot.com on September 27, 2014.

--

--

Isura Silva
Mindfulness Journal

Business Consultant and Performance Coach on Digital Transformation