How my No Netflix and Apple Music month worked out

Isura Silva
Mindfulness Journal
2 min readFeb 27, 2016

I was addicted to Netflix. For a month.

I signed in to watch Marco Polo, but soon I was watching many suggestions Netflix was giving me. It was a ‘chilling’ experience.

Knowing it would take much of my free time, I turned to Coursera for 2 online courses. One habit that was becoming an addiction was replaced by a good educating habit. When I want to avoid an addiction I always make sure that time will be taken by another habit. When mind is occupied, there are less chances of going back to the wreck.

Then, I did the impossible. I unsubscribed from Apple Music too. Why?

I don’t know why, but I wanted to. I did not believe I could. But I did. Now it’s been 1 month. I listen to songs in much intensity than when I had endless streaming music. My old off line music library came alive again. I was enjoying music — not flipping through music. One at a time.

So, you might think I am going to drool about renewal of relationships, more time spend with loved ones, getting things done faster with focused efforts etc.

Actually it is much much more rewarding than the obvious things. The biggest insight was,

I was able to avoid my addiction. I was in control. I did not want to go back. I will be back on netflix when ‘House of Cards’ new season hits the shelf. But I will plan it. I will just watch that. I am in control.

--

--

Isura Silva
Mindfulness Journal

Business Consultant and Performance Coach on Digital Transformation