Conversation W/d Ekta Saxena: A Reiki Healer and The Author of Notes To My Healing Self

Kratikaagarwal
Mindfulness Matters
4 min readAug 30, 2024

Traveling takes you to better people!

Picture by Author

Mental Health is becoming a major concern in this social media-driven society. When Gen Zers feel an immediate need to connect with their life’s purpose, ages above them feel left out in the same loophole. With every passing day, they are understanding more than us, feeling left out more than us, and most difficult part losing loved ones as a part of life.

Last year, In February, A creative writing workshop connected me with Mrs. Ekta Saxena, the author of a poetry book named Notes To My Healing Self. Imagine you live in a metro city, and every day you pass by some stranger whose life is a complete mystery to you. Thanks to the urgent need for networking, there are events, festivals, and workshops that help you connect with the rest of the world.

After the workshop, when we were networking and looking through some books, I found her talking to another member. She looked at me, smiled, and signed one of the copies of her book for me. I was more than happy to take it. She mentioned it was an ode to her mother, whose unconditional love and blessing helped her throughout life. (She was no longer with her.) Soon, I got to know she was a Reiki Healer.

In a year, whenever I got on the call with her, I realized how much a life can hold in itself. Life had its set of twists and turns for her, but she inspires me. She hails from Roorkee and now lives in Delhi, where she got married. She loves literature, travel, and nature. Her hobby is taking pictures of flowers whenever she is around them ( that’s something I’ve guessed after months of watching her social updates). Her lifelong goal is to travel to every state in India.

Last month we were just catching up, and I learned she left her 30+ years of work experience to help the world with Reiki. I held a small interview with her to let the world get to know her better.

1. Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am Ekta, a motivator at heart, an Instructional Designer by profession, and a seeker at my soul level. I love to show each person I meet, their hidden capabilities and inner beauty. That’s my motive in life. I have published one motivational poetry book, and am working on the next one.

2. What motivated you to leave your high-paying job to pursue a writing career?

While working for a corporate giant, I felt I couldn’t find time for networking (due to working from home) and precious time with my family. Additionally, the deadline-paced work was impacting my mental health. Therefore, I decided to gain mental solace by following my passion.

3. How did you discover Reiki, and what level have you achieved? How do you make it accessible to others?

Reiki is a healing modality that helps focus the positive energy around us towards someone who needs healing. I discovered Reiki to help me overcome the loss of my parents in quick succession. I am a level 3A master healer. Reiki can be sent to anyone who requires healing on a physical or mental level. There is no need to be near the healer for Reiki to work.

4. What advice would you give to young people looking for solace early in life?

It’s vital at any age to balance out work and time for oneself. Emotional hygiene is as important as physical hygiene. In India, talking about mental health is such a taboo, leading to a plethora of lifestyle diseases stemming from not being able to do what you are passionate about. We need to be more open and adaptive to the need to vent our feelings. This process is natural and much more liberating and therapeutic than bottling emotions or brushing them under the carpet. My advice is to love yourself the way you are and then, just for yourself, take tiny steps to become a better version of yourself.

5. What are you most looking forward to in your career/life?

I look forward to achieving my dream of exploring each state of my country during my lifetime and positively impacting as many lives as possible through my words, written or spoken.

6. As a woman, what factors do you believe drive women towards achieving their goals?

As children, we nurtured dreams vividly without bothering how others would perceive them. As we grow older and start taking up responsibilities, we are made to believe that giving our whole to our responsibilities is prime, even at the cost of losing our identity. The dreams take backstage and, at times, are forgotten completely. Here is what needs to change. We need to respect ourselves for the person we are. Those who do not let their dreams die achieve their goals and live a happier life.

About me

Hey, I am a freelance writer who reads more than she writes. Creating a perfect lifestyle is something I’ve been working on for a long time. This piece is mini wisdom from some of the best writings that I came across. If you like this, I wouldn’t ask you to buy me a coffee but medium claps would work wonders.

--

--