PERSONAL REFLECTION | DHAMMA

See Life In Nature

A simple and effective everyday practice for a peaceful life

Manasika
Mindfulness Matters
2 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Sunrise in Pranburi, Thailand. 2023 | Photo by author

As a child, I used to loathe sunsets.

The twilight time would bring melancholy and the upcoming hours of darkness that smother me with a heavy blanket of anxiety. Fear and loneliness crept up and settled in my bones, and they didn’t leave till dawn broke.

That’s my childhood years, in the household where my other four siblings had not experienced it similarly.

I wondered why I felt this way. It was so intense that I had to begin the quest for an answer to such misery at a very young age.

Fast forward a few decades of trial and error, stacks of notebooks and journals, years of Vipassana meditation, and education in psychology (primarily self-taught) — I became one with nature. I met the life that was absent before.

Now, I love the sunset as much as the sunrise.

There’s no terror or mystery about darkness, it happens every twelve hours. (sorry, the northernmost and southernmost regions…)

Nature reminds me that I must welcome the twilight dusk as warmly as the light of breaking dawn. It’s the truth of life, no other way.

--

--

Manasika
Mindfulness Matters

A fun aunt. Midlife survivor. Passionate truth seeker. Write to inspire + ease anxiety. On the quest to transcend the meaning of life, the Self, and beyond✨🌄