How I choose Android Development?

Bhavya Varmora
MindOrks
Published in
5 min readJul 31, 2019
Photo by Caspar Camille Rubin on Unsplash

My journey started when I took admission in Computer Science Engineering (Cloud-Based Applications). After taking admission in CSE(CBA), I was not serious about my career. I don’t like computer stuff and I don’t know anything about the computer although I’m good at watching movies and playing games on them 😁. While taking admission in CSE I thought that college professors will teach us about how to build software and so I was very excited. I wanted to become a software developer but I didn’t know what actually a software does, why we need software.

Frankly speaking, it seems cool to me when someone says that I am a software developer. So in the flow of becoming cool to others, I chose CSE and after a few days, the college started. The subjects were introduced C, Java, Html, CSS, C++, etc. So I started learning these programming languages but the problem was I was not able to understand the basic concepts. Each and every lecture made me think that computer engineering is not for me.

I and some of my friends thought that four years of this course will get passed easily. Soon we realized that it is not that easy. All of us were waiting for a day called Result Day. Almost the whole batch of mine was enjoying, feeling good that they cleared the exams. Whereas I got failed in two or three subjects. But the result didn’t affect me in any way. I thought I will clear all the examinations in the next semester. And this thing continued for a long while.

Days passed, and I was still not able to understand a single thing. After some time I got frustrated with my daily routine. Going to the college, sitting in the lecture where I was not able to understand anything, coming back home, hanging out with friends and so on.

After some days the turning point came. One day, I and a very close friend of mine was sitting in a cafe and my friend’s brother joined us. He was working as an Android developer in some companies. We were talking about random stuff. After a while, he started showing us the apps that he had made. That was the first time I got to know about Android development. Somehow it seemed interesting to me. He was explaining the working of the technology but as usual, I was not able to understand. What caught my eyes was the UI of the apps that he showed me.

He asked me what I’m doing apart from studies. I said watching movies and playing games 😆. He explained to me what is Android, it’s functionality, how many people are using it, what’s the scope of it and the success story of it. He also told me that, all over the world more than 75% of the population is using Android, a huge number of apps are uploaded in play store daily. Moreover, he said if you can make a good app you can earn a lot 💸 💸.

He suggested me to start learning Android development. I told him that my concepts are not clear, and most of all how should I start learning Android development, where to learn it, what to do first and what not to. He told me that he would help me and guide me. I got excited and agreed to him.
So he started sending me links of video which I was supposed to watch and practice the things that were taught in that video. Months passed and I was getting demotivated day-by-day, programming and all those kinds of stuff were not a cup of tea for me.

The reason why I’m doing Android development is the happiness or the pride I feel of not giving up on learning even after having so many obstacles in my way. I continued and now I am a beginner level android developer.

Three months ago my university exams were near so I thought I should pause learning Android for some period of time. At least for two months and I should concentrate on my university examinations as I was supposed to clear my backlogs also. Somehow I convinced myself to pause learning android and start preparing for examinations.

Guess what happened. I failed in university exams. What made me sadder, was I paused my Android learning process for two months which resulted in blurring the concepts which I had learned after a lot of hard work.

This made me learn a lesson. There’s just a small difference between being an ordinary person and an extraordinary person, that is the word EXTRA. So to be an extraordinary person you have to put that extra effort, extra hard work into your work.

In my case, I was supposed to do that extra work to achieve my goal. Studying is the thing I have to at any cost but to be consistent in putting efforts for achieving my goal is that extra!

As a result, I’m now doing both things. Studying plus doing that extra to achieve my goal.

I would like to thank my friend, my guide Mehul Kanzariya. Thanks to him that he introduced me to Android development. He guides me always, makes me understand the concepts and always motivates me. And he is the one who suggested me to enroll for the course on MindOrks.

He explained to me how the team works hard to provide the best course with that too in a lucid way, the whole team is highly designated which would help me in improving my skills.

I took the course, and trust me guys this course is such a blessing to me. They have planned their course in a tremendous way. They are always ready to help. Their way of teaching is amazing. They are always there to support you.
If you are a beginner you must enroll in the MindOrks course. I have learned a lot from them and I’m still learning from them.

Some basic tips that I would like to share with you that might help you to build your career:

  1. If you are learning anything which you are going to pursue as your career, choose an ideal. From whom you can have the guidance to learn that thing in a better way. Moreover, they will give you the direction to follow. Which is according to me, is really important. Just think, you are working really hard on something but after some time you realize you were not in the right direction. So choose your ideal wisely. I have the Mindorks team and Mehul as my ideal.
  2. Next one is planning and time management. Both play a major role in achieving your goal and get that extra work done without disturbing your routine work.
  3. Always believe in yourself. It is okay if things are not working. It is you who have to make them work in the way you want them to. And only you can do it, no one else is going to do it for you. Don’t lose hope.

This is my journey till now always remember “A single step alone can change the whole direction of your life.”

If you liked this article, feel free to share with your friend and give as many claps as possible.

Thank you and happy coding!

Follow me on Youtube https://www.youtube.com/@BhavyaVarmoraVlogs

--

--