JSON Creator for WhatsApp Sticker Pack

Pratik Butani
MindOrks
Published in
2 min readMar 4, 2019
JSON Creator for WhatsApp Sticker Pack

Hello Developers, Hope you are doing well and making awesome sticker apps for WhatsApp. We are creating beautiful apps for WhatsApp Stickers after they have announced sticker features in Android and iOS App.

My Experience with Sticker Apps:

In the last Diwali (2018), I resigned from my job and free for a month. On that time I heard something about WhatsApp Stickers that we can send stickers in a new update.

I just googled for some code to create sticker app on New Year’s night and I found GitHub Repository of WhatsApp Stickers which is open source. I tried to run and understand the process that how can I create my own apps.

Problems which I faced:

Next day, I made 3 apps Gujarati Stickers, Big Emoji Stickers, and Jain Stickers but I got many problems while creating these apps like Create JSON for sticker pack in that give a name of each image one by one.

The solution for a while:

For a quick and simple solution, I have created one PHP file to get file names in JSON from a particular folder. (I don’t know PHP actually but tried and got succeed.)

There is also one problem that I have to copy all folders with that PHP file and run one by one to get JSON, then paste into content.json.

Each and Every developer facing this problem, Believe Me.

FINAL SOLUTION:

Basically, I am Android Developer but I know some web languages I have created a tool to Convert Image names to JSON Array (WAStickerApp) which will helps you to get the whole JSON by giving details of Sticker Pack.

You can upload the following details:

  • Folder Name (Identifier)
  • Sticker Pack Name
  • Publisher
  • Tray Image (with .png)
  • Publisher Email
  • Publisher Website
  • Privacy Policy URL
  • License Agreement Website
  • Images (Only .webp)

It will give full array in JSON as below:

{
"android_play_store_link": "",
"ios_app_store_link": "",
"sticker_pack": [
{
"identifier": "1",
"name": "My Sticker Pack",
"publisher": "Pratik Butani",
"tray_image_file": "placeholder.png",
"publisher_email": "pratik13butani@gmail.com",
"publisher_website": "pratikbutani.com",
"privacy_policy_website": "your-url.com/privacy_policy.php",
"license_agreement_website": "your-url.com/license.php",
"stickers": [
{
"image_file": "banner.webp",
"emoji": [
"",
""
]
},
{
"image_file": "bg_img.webp",
"emoji": [
"",
""
]
},
{
"image_file": "ic_chef.webp",
"emoji": [
"",
""
]
}
]
}
]
}

Hope you will love it. ❤ ❤

I took help to design that page by getting inspiration from contributors to sticker repository.

Available on GitHub:

This tool is Open Source if you want to give your valuable inputs.

The medium allows 50 claps so Don’t give one clap. Give the full +50. For all of our sakes.

Image Source: https://giphy.com/

Thank you

Keep in touch. I will be coming with a new story.

--

--

Pratik Butani
MindOrks

55k+ Reputation Holder on Stack Overflow | #FlutterDev & #AndroidDev | Team Lead @7Span | Contributor | Managing @androidschool