The Dangers of Modern Propaganda

Brian Hochmuth
MindOverMedia
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2020
Propaganda meme by, Brian Hochmuth

Hey Everyone!

This year has been truly remarkable and unique. It has included the largest pandemic in a century, the most intense civil unrest in decades, one of the most important elections of our lives, and adversaries continuing to flex their muscles. With hundreds of millions of people locked down at home and an increasingly digitized world, propaganda has flooded social media and penetrated all aspects of our lives. In light of everything going on, being able to recognize, interpret, and create positive propaganda is becoming an increasingly valuable skill. I greatly improved upon these skills and received valuable insights while studying the following sections: Journalism & public relations, election propaganda, terrorism as propaganda, patriotism & nationalism, and propaganda in education. Each section played a pivotal role in expanding my knowledge.

During my paper I will explore many topics discussed throughout this semester. First I touched upon how media corporations operate, which includes a response from someone who works in the media industry. Next I explained why it is extremely difficult to convince people with facts. Then, I will evaluate the dangers posed by the Boogaloo movement and how I plan to use this knowledge to look after my friends. Next I will elucidate why patriotism can be a blessing when used properly but also a curse when used improperly. Lastly I will elaborate on the importance of textbooks in our education system and how concerned it makes me.

To a certain extent this class has also prevented us from falling victim to the propaganda flooding the internet and our lives. Now that we possess the tools and knowledge needed to produce positive propaganda, hopefully in the decades to come we can leave a lasting, meaningful, and positive impact on our country and world.

I hope you all enjoy my paper and I look forward to hearing any and all feedback.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1vLnQgzL1wUmKW5ih8IfRDqEeb_-oSYrvUj97myhL82A/edit?usp=sharing

--

--