Who am I?

Melissa Wolf
MindPump
Published in
2 min readAug 6, 2017
“good morning gorgeous”

Hi. My name is Melissa Wolf. And I HATED ‘fitness.’

The idea of exerting any more effort than was required to physically get from A to B ensured panic in my poor, hyper hormonal, adolescent brain. Forget sports, hikes, even long walks on the beach. If it meant moving ‘extra’ I was out.

Flash forward to the present:

Primarily, I am a DPT (Doctor of Physical Therapy) student living (and loving) in the Bay Area. This side of me will likely find its way into my writing. However, the reason I created this blog was to cater to my story as fitness enthusiast turned bikini competitor.

Wait, fitness enthusiasts? Yep. I lifted my first barbell when I was 19 and the rest was history. Sedentary potato child to rabid gym rat. Just like that. Well, not JUST like that but you get the idea. Anything can happen!

And I’m going further. September 2017 will be my first experience in competitive bodybuilding.

There’s a lot of issues in the world of bodybuilding. So many, that I swore I’d have nothing to do with sport. Yet, against the odds, here I am diving head first into the very industry I always turned my shoulder to.

My journey starts with a desire to be the best version of myself. So for my first competition prep, my mission is simple: I want to do it right. I want to expose the bad and promote the good in this sport, because I believe there’s more to it than a bunch of vein people with tans and heinous diets.

Maybe you’re a bodybuilder, a fitness enthusiast or maybe you hate to move. I’ve been all three, so I hope you find value in my journey.

--

--

Melissa Wolf
MindPump

Sedentary potato child turned rabid gym rat. Fresh meat Bikini Competitor going for a DPT in Oakland. Doing my best to bring you the inside scoop.