MINDS WITHOUT BORDERS

We Were the Only White Couple Living in a Black Neighborhood

Being a minority taught me some things

Chevie Hanssler
Minds Without Borders
6 min readJun 5, 2024

--

This shows a black and white woman giving the peace sign.
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Growing up in a county that was 99 percent white, I wasn’t around people of other ethnicities. The only education I had about other races as a youth came from TV, and I’m sure that wasn’t the best teacher.

Birds of a feather

When I was in junior high, two black families moved to the neighborhood. Mark and Samantha were a year or two younger than me. They were popular and had a lot of friends. Mark was on the track team and my best friend Tori kissed him underneath the bleachers one night.

“What was it like,” I asked.

“Soft and wet,” she said. “He’s a good kisser.”

With my sheltered upbringing, I thought somehow kissing a Black kid would be different.

When I moved from a small town to the city to live with my dad, I attended a high school that was a melting pot, predominantly African Americans and Caucasians.

I was terrified on the first day of school. The school was humongous and I felt lost and alone. Over time, I made friends who were Asian, Korean, and Caucasian. I got to know some Black kids in my class and we were on…

--

--

Chevie Hanssler
Minds Without Borders

Child of the 70s. Lover of nostalgia. Former newspaper editor. I write memoir and personal essays.