Who Said Change is the Only Constant in Life?

Hint: It was not Plato or Aristotle.

Lucy King
Mindset Matters

--

Photo by EVREN AYDIN on Unsplash

Heraclitus, the Greek philosopher said, “Change is the only constant in life.”

I admit I had to look this up. Given I have used this quote in my writing I’m a little embarrassed not to know the source.

Did you answer correctly? If so, I’m impressed with your knowledge of ancient Greek philosophy!

Heraclitus was a pioneer of wisdom who lived over 500 years before Jesus Christ. His thoughts fed into the writings of Aristotle and Plato.

Ancient Greek philosophers taught valuable lessons that are still mind-blowingly relevant today. When a simple saying has remained alive for centuries, it is a good idea to stop and recognize its truth.

In this article I look at four profound sayings from over 2,500 years ago and relate their meaning for modern life.

Enjoy and share your thoughts!

The worst of all deceptions is self-deception — Plato

When someone lies there is always the possibility to uncover the truth. When we suspect something is wrong, we start asking questions and sooner or later the lie will be revealed.

--

--