How to stop living your life with regrets?

Bharat Makwana
The 265 Mindset
Published in
5 min readDec 17, 2020
Photo by Andreas Weiland on Unsplash

Do you like your Job, if no then why are you not living the job of your dreams?

Most of the answer will be like: Other people’s opinion, what my mom, dad, friends or any other person will say about the job am I doing?

But let’s talk about regrates: there are 5 regrets of the dying and It is from book called 5 regrets of the dying.

It’s about a lady nurse, she was caring for people that knew there is no other part of life like they knew they are going to die

And over of period of 8 years she noticed very common regrets over and over again with these people who were dying!

Regret-1: “I wish I lived the life that’s true to me and not what others expected to me!”

You know what you get 1 life, but number 1 regret that people have is that they wish they didn’t do what other people wanted them to do, they wish their life that they wanted to live and not the life that their parents wanted them to live, their family wanted them to live, society wanted them to live!

Some people being doctor/engineer just because their parent wanted them to be, or there is more money, or some other reason, and that’s all about their life and in the end of the life they have the same regret.

Most of the people live like they just allow them to fit in!

Some of the people don’t follow their passion because they are too afraid of what other people might think or what other people might say!

The biggest fear of me for now is that I am going to the end of my life and regret that I didn’t do that I truly wanted to do, and this is what drives me every single day and do something that I wanted to do!

And we allow what other think of us, that is come in the way of the life that we want!

Even though we know we have one life!

So, in the book there was a lady names grace, she was dying but the thing that she said to her before she passed away was

“Live true to your own heart, don’t ever worry about what other people think of you!”

What we can learn from it: We need to live life on our terms, do what’s you’re passionate about, do what you like and don’t worry about what other thinks because it’s your life!

Regret-2: — “I wish I hadn’t work so hard!”

In book, she said that lot of the people who said this to her were men.

We love working so hard, even I do, but it needs to be balanced.

she talks about a man in book, that man was worked about 15 years for money and he worked so damn hard and he was making money so he and his wife can go out and spend time together, after 15 years he said let’s do one more year just to make sure I have enough money to spend, but before 3monts of 16 years of working, his wife died and you know what she all wanted is to spend time with her husband but she didn’t get it!

He speaks:

“I wish I hadn’t work so hard, I was damn fool, I worked too hard, and now I am lonely dying man, and now of course I stay here dying, I see the just being good person is more than enough in life

We are chasing for more, and this hinder us from real things in life, like time with the one that we love!

And there is nothing wrong with doing that you love, but it’s really about balance!

What we can learn from it: It’s okay to do what you love, it’s okay to be passionate about something, but you got to have balance, you weren’t born to work hard and pay all the bills and then die!

Regret-3: — “I wish that I had the courage to express my feelings!”

I will say, we are trained to not to feel, we are trained to go of our head and not of our heart!

In the book she gives an example of the man that she took care of, he was regrating that because he felt like he never let his own wife and kids even really know what he truly was in his entire life!

The key to having a real deep meaningful life is vulnerability because it teaches you how to feel more, feel more lows but feel more highs.

What we can learn from it: We don’t need to be close of, how about we open up to people we love, or to people that are close to us!

Regret-4: — “I wish I stayed in touch with my friends!”

We know that in these busy days we can’t afford time to spend with our friends and after long time of no conversation we forget them!

But let’s try to stay in touch with those who are truly matter to us, let’s figure out the way to spend little time with them!

Regret-5: — “I wish I had let myself to be happier!”

If we don’t allow ourselves to be vulnerable, if we don’t allow ourselves to full express who we are, we kind of close all the emotions and starting being emotionless, and at the end we don’t feel as much happiness!

If you are closing, your lows, you are closing your highs.

Also, Happiness is choice, every single day when you wake up and say to yourself that “I am going to be happy” and you lock that state of emotion in to yourself, you will be happier, you don’t have to go and have things to happen, you don’t have to buy the car that you want!

Because the external world is not what makes you happy, it’s internal world that is making you happy, and you spread it in to the outer world!

--

--