Dear Art Galleries,

Thank you for your (beautiful) lessons

Faith Stories
Mini Mailer

--

Photo by Derick McKinney on Unsplash

I stand in awe, mesmerized by your beauty. You are a room filled with paintings, statues, and works of art.

Dear art galleries, you hold exquisite pieces from around the globe. Famous artists put their works in you, for you are their home.

Dear art galleries, sometimes you are small in size, holding the works of local artists like a prize.

As I walk by each piece, I stop for a moment and stare.

Sometimes I understand what’s there, but there are times when I don’t understand. Perhaps the beauty lies in its mystery.

As the saying goes, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”

Your Lessons on Beauty

You taught me there isn’t one definition of what it means to be beautiful.

There isn’t one size or shape, or colour. Anything can be lovely if we give it a chance. We have to allow it to shine under spotlights even if it doesn’t make sense. There is beauty in the mysterious ones, in the bizarre, and the abstract.

You have shown me there is a deeper story behind each work of art. You have shown me each stroke of paint is as valuable as the finished piece.

--

--