Dear Breath

This is me, your childhood friend.

Yamin Ohmar
Mini Mailer

--

Photo by Havilah Galaxy on Unsplash

I’ve been with you since the day I entered this world, and yet, I paid such little attention to you. Most of the time, I didn’t even notice that you were with me. So first of all, I would like to say that I’m sorry for neglecting you and your importance in my life.

I first came to know you through a method called meditation when I was a teenager. That was when my mother took me to a religious temple for this meditation program she had been attending. At that program, I had to sit down and be mindful of breathing patterns (your patterns).

Breathe in, breathe out.

When I first had an anxiety attack back in my late 20s, I learned about training you with the trick of inhaling and exhaling slowly and deeply to calm down the worries and relax the thoughts. And recently, I’ve read somewhere that —

Slow breathing can contribute to a longer life and fast breathing can lead to shorter life expectancy.

That’s when I realized how important you are to me, and that I need to take care of you, Breath.

During the past few days, I just found out that you are also helpful in manifesting good vibes and good energy. So, whenever I feel down, I would chant this while exercising with you. After that, the state of my…

--

--

Yamin Ohmar
Mini Mailer

A writer with a simple, and yet hard to maintain, goal to write everyday.