Dear ‘Champion of the world’

Thank you for choosing me

Vidya Kasarla
Mini Mailer
2 min readJul 15, 2021

--

Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

Some say books choose people. In my case, a song — you — chose me.

You were my sunrise and sunset. You were my untold story and untwisted knot. You were my unweathered wall of support. You still are.

I vividly remember the night when I sat still, with despair heaving my heart, and listening to you, while my brain replayed my whole life in a time-lapse. I could relate my life with you, in you. All I did(and could do) was press the replay button. You were the solace I was searching to seek for so long.

Your every word as a brick to my support wall, every intonation as a hand to lift my burden off, your every pitch raising my spirits, and your every ebb soothing my clogged throat, you were and are there for me, the whole time. Thank you so much.

I tried my best to stay alight
Fly like a firework
I tried my best at taking flight
But my rocketship reversed

Oh, referee, don’t stop the fight
Everyone can see, I’m hurt
But I’ll stand before conquistadors
’Til I’m champion of the world

In a world full of mouths that can’t stay shut, being a thinker and a soul who lives a bit more in mind is so underrated. I tried to fit in, but my rocketship reversed. I couldn’t do it. But when my dreams didn’t allow me to do the closing credits, I tried again. Even with all the bruises and hurt, I walk across the world to pave the path to myself.

And when I sail
I’m sailing west
(Though I might fail) Knowing I might fail
But, still I am hoping for the best

I have E.T. on my bicycle
Because giving up won’t work
I am riding on my rocketship
And I’m champion of the world

Now, even if I know I’m going against the norms set by the typical society, I determined to be undeterred. I started to believe in myself, and in my morals. Thanks to you for enlightening me on how important it is for me to believe in myself.

Failing works. Falling works. Pausing for a while, works. But giving up won’t work.

I am ride on my rocketship. I am jumping with no parachute. I’m sailing west. I’m fighting, and not giving up. And I’m champion of the world.

Cheers for a million more replays!

Coldplay, How can I forget you? Oh! How I wish to be there while you play this on live. If all works well, we shall meet next year. And thanks a ton for these magical words. Lots of love.

Yours,
Vidya (by now I’m sure you know my name)

Love writing letters? Join us. Mini Mailer welcomes you!

--

--