Dear Depression

You create warriors.

Felishia La-Shae
Mini Mailer

--

Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

I’ll never forget the day I realized what you were. I’ll never forget the impending doom I felt knowing that I was burdened with you. I’ll never forget the day I acknowledged that YOU were present in my life.

You steal from those that you burden with your presence.

You steal friends. You steal years of life off of people. The mere existence of you robs a person of their happiness. You turn good days into bad ones and you take the excitement out of people who don’t deserve it.

You single people out no matter where they are. You make people feel like they’re the center of attention while also making them feel like nobody cares about them. The complicated emotions that you twist together inside of the human body are cruel. You are cruel.

You cause self-hate in those you visit.

The worst part about everything is you cause people to hate themselves. You make them feel worthless. You take away their power. You cloud their thoughts so they rarely can think clearly. You send their emotions into overdrive. You fueled their tempers and their tears. You nearly kill them.

The Light at the end of the tunnel.

--

--

Felishia La-Shae
Mini Mailer

Writer, Dreamer, Creator. Navigating life one sentence at a time.