Dear New Years Resolutions,

Don’t get monstrous

Stefan Grieve
Mini Mailer
2 min readDec 30, 2021

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash. Edited by Author on Microsoft Paint 3D

I write to you not just on behalf of me, but on behalf of all of a certain ilk. Those who have made resolutions that seem right, like getting healthier, continuing a good habit or just basically getting better. They do so well… all the way…to the end of the week.

I am writing to you now, to ask, please. Please stop putting pressure on us. Not everyone can keep up with the promise. Sure, we may have the potential at the start, the burst of pure intention. But bursts fade fast. Give us a break.

Also, please stop rampaging through the city spreading carnage and terror. It’s really not nice.

Yes, I admit it was my fault. I mean, kind of. Well, it maybe had something to do with when I encouraged that wizard I knew to make you sentient and real and you began to spring out and form from the piece of paper bearing your name. But then again, it could be just a coincidence.

Now fifty feet tall you tear through the city leaving chaos in your wake.

I don’t know really why I did that. Maybe it was just to make you easier to deal with? Now the army can’t even deal with you.

But maybe all this running away from you will help with my prior resolution of losing weight.

I think the advice I would give to others, so you won’t get worse sisters or brothers, is maybe we are all more set up to fail with resolutions because we are under pressure to make a resolution in contrast to how bad our year has been. Just don’t make yours a monster.

All this reminds me of what my wise friend once told me. That the greater the weight of expectations leads to a greater likelihood of failure. I hate that friend. Always reminding me of my weight.

And maybe I will also ask you now, new years monster, in my final plea, to look deep inside you into what you can actually be. A beacon of hope that whatever may happen in the next year there are more goals to make, however small. Rather than ones that are unbreakable. Like you are. The remnants of the tanks sent towards you are evidence of that.

The monster you have grown into needn’t be destructive, but something to look up to. And since you are 50 feet tall, that is a lot of looking up to I admit.

Yours sincerely,

Stefan

--

--

Stefan Grieve
Mini Mailer

British writer based in Wakefield, West Yorkshire. Chairperson of writing group ‘’Wakefield Word.’