Dear Papa

Preeti Goel
Mini Mailer
Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2021

Happy Father’s Day

Photo by Kelli McClintock on Unsplash

Dear papa

I’m writing this letter in the beautiful language of English you introduced to me. It’s because of you I am a writer today as you taught me to love the language and express myself fully. I still remember the way you used to hold my hand and teach me how to write. You’ve taught me geometry and trigonometry and how to play with the compass. It was because of you and only you that I fell in love with algebra.

I still remember the way you hugged me and told me, “I’m proud of you”, after I got my first job.

I remember you standing up for me when I wanted to move to a new city even when mom was against it.

I remember waking you up in the middle of the night when I had not done my homework. We used to get up early in the morning to complete the same before School.

And even today, nothing has changed papa. Now when I want to live alone you are the one who understood and supported me.

You’ve taught me to be disciplined, patient, and to be respectful of each human being. You showed me how to show up after a failure and that a little setback is not the end of the world. It has taken this distance to make me remember all of this and I have come to realize that you are and have always been my ideal, my hero.

It is only a matter of time that you will be back home and support me because a lot of decisions are yet to be made.

Lots of love,

Get well soon.

Preeti

--

--